Tags

, ,

TriValley will be pacing the Livermore Half Marathon on Sat March 29th, since it’s an inaugural race runners with TriValley decided to do a self-supported course preview run this morning so we could familiarize ourselves with the course, turns and elevation..etc. Some of the registered runners learned about this preview run had joined the pacers this morning, and it once again reminded us that pacing is an important role to race event!
image
At 8:00am runners gathered at the corner of First Street & S. Livermore Ave where the Start line is going to be on the race day, and for majority of us it’s the first time coming  here. Downtown Livermore is a very cute place on early Sunday morning, and we were all excited about this event. We divided our group into front, mid and back pack according to paces,  and after a quick introduction and group photo, we were ready to go!

20140323-144621.jpg

There are many streets to cross and turn for the first three miles, so I was out to mark the course before everyone showed up, and I was also scouting out spot where I could safely park and setup mini aid-station. If you see the chalk marked smiley face with arrows on the street, you know you are following TriValley 🙂 The first aid-station was at before mile 4 where runners entering into the Sycamore Grove Park. This was a perfect spot for first aid-station because I could tell runners not to continue on Wetmore Rd; that mistake could cut the course short by about 4 miles.

image

The front pack was led by Chad & Fernando, then Michael and Venkat was leading the mid pack coming in about 3 minutes after. The last group was with Sopheak, and they were going for open water swim after today’s run, hardcore definitely! Some of the runners had turn at Concannon Blvd which was absolutely perfect for taper and applaud to the wise decision! After the last group entering into the trail, I drove to mile 6 1/2 and found I couldn’t park there so had to move onto the intersection of Arroyo Road and Wetmore, where I marked couple huge arrows for “Turn Right” into the vineyard.

image

Next water stop is around mile 10 where runners would be existing the vineyard, and it’s such a beautiful place to setup the water, GU gel..etc. Several cyclists and runners passed by and asked “Is there an event today?” when they saw the mini aid-station. “No, I am here to support a group run today; pacers are practicing for next weekend’s event. Help yourself with some GU and water if you need any!” Two jockeys on horse threw couple curious glance at me and I told them “Come cheeer for us, there is going to be a Half Marathon race next weekend.” I sent them off and told them “Say Hi to my runner friends :-)”
image

All the runners stopped for GU Brew and Gel, and everyone looked strong and confident that I knew the next 3 mile was going to be no issue from here. I gathered all my stuffs and considered my job was done for today. Time for breakfast at First Street Alehouse which they laughed and thought it’s a joke when I did my pre-run intro :-p

image

